Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Full-time Faculty

 Faculty MemberResearch
Bamin Khomami.

Bamin Khomami

Head, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Granger and Beaman Distinguished University Professor; Director, Sustainable Energy Education and Research Center
Structure, Dynamics, and Rheology of Complex Fluids and Soft Matter; Multiscale Modeling and Simulation of Complex Systems; Processing Science of Micro- and Nano-Structured Materials; Nano- and Micro-Scale Interfacial Phenomenon
Brian Edwards.

Brian J. Edwards

Professor, Associate Head
Nonequilibrium Thermodynamics, Polymer Dynamics, Rheology, Molecular Simulation, Statistical Mechanics
Steven Abel.

Steven M. Abel

Associate Professor
Computational Cell Biology and Immunology, Theory and Simulation of Soft Biological Materials
Rigoberto Advincula.

Rigoberto Advincula

UT-ORNL Governor's Chair of Advanced and Nanostructured Materials
Polymers, Nanoscience, Macromolecule Science and Engineering, Organic Materials, Hybrid Materials, Ultrathin Films
Belinda Akpa.

Belinda Akpa

Joint Associate Faculty
Computational biomedicine, Systems physiology, Mechanistic mathematical modeling
Eric Boder.

Eric T. Boder

Career Development Associate Professor
Biomolecular Engineering Applications in Immune Function, Viral Membrane Fusion Proteins, Molecular Switching and Cell Adhesion Proteins, Protein Immobilizing and Modifying Enzymes
Robert Counce.

Robert M. (Pete) Counce

Green Engineering, Industrial-Scale Mass Transfer Operations, Radio-Chemical Engineering
Paul Dalhaimer.

Paul Dalhaimer

Associate Professor
Nanomedicine in the Context of Mouse Models of Metabolic Diseases
Manolis Doxastakis.

Manolis Doxastakis

Associate Professor
Polymer Melts, Blends and Nanocomposites; Reaction-Diffusion in Patterning Applications; Biomolecules in Membranes; Multiscale Modeling and Characterization of Materials Coupled to Experiments
Paul Frymier.

Paul D. Frymier

Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Engagement, Professor
Stability of Hydrogen Production from Photosystems of Thermophyllic Cyanobacteria, Improving the Kinetics of Electron Transport in Isolated Photosystems and Cytochromes, Protein Stabilization in Liposomes
John Zhanhu Guo.

John Zhanhu Guo

Associate Professor
Multifunctional Nanocomposites with Tailored Component, Structure and Property for Education and Problem-Solving Demonstration Purpose
S. Michael Kilbey II

S. Michael Kilbey II

Surface and Interface Engineering Using Soft Materials
Siris Laursen.

Siris O. Laursen

Associate Professor
Heterogeneous Catalysis, Fundamental Surface Science, High Energy Catalysis, Quantum Chemical Surface Reaction Modeling, Electronic Structure of Molecules and Materials, Fundamental Design of Chemical Kinetics, Rational Catalyst Design, Non-Noble Metal Ceramic and Intermetallic Compound Nanoparticle Catalyst Synthesis, and Renewable Fuels and Chemicals Catalysis
Stephen Paddison.

Stephen J. Paddison

Gibson Endowed Chair in Engineering, Professor
Ion Containing Polymers, Proton and Hydroxide Ion Exchange Membranes, Multiscale Modeling and Simulation, Structure/Property Relationships
Art Ragauskas.

Arthur J. Ragauskas

UT-ORNL Governor's Chair for Biorefining
Biorefining; Nanolignocellulosics; Green Chemistry; BioFuels; Bio-Based Materials & Chemicals; BioComposites; BioPower; Fiber Modification; Pulping/Bleaching; Chemistry of Natural Biopolymers including Cellulose, Hemicellulose, and Lignin; Polysaccharides; Organic/Carbohydrate Chemistry
Sankar Raghavan.

Sankar V. Raghavan

Eastman Professor of Practice
Engineering Pedagogy
Gila Stein.

Gila E. Stein

Prados Professor
Self-Assembly in Polymeric Systems, Physics of Confined Polymers, Thermodynamics of Polymer Blends, Architectural Design of Polymers, Lithographic Materials, Coatings, Thin Film Membranes, X-Ray Scattering Methods
Cong Trinh.

Cong T. Trinh

Ferguson Faculty Fellow in Chemical Engineering, Associate Professor
Systems and Synthetic Biology; Metabolic Engineering; Biochemical Engineering; Microbiome Engineering; Computational Biology; Cell Physiology; Bioenergy, Biofuels, Biochemicals; CRISPR technology; Antimicrobials; and Diagnostics
Thomas Zawodzinski.

Thomas A. Zawodzinski

UT-ORNL Governor's Chair for Electrical Energy Conversion and Storage
Electrolytes and Composite Electrodes for Fuel Cells, Fundamentals of Energy Storage Materials and Systems, Water Management in Fuel Cells, Application of NMR to Chemical Engineering Problems