Skip to content

Hall of Fame

CBE’s Hall of Fame award is given to individuals that have achieved significant accomplishments or have made great contributions to the profession.  To be considered for the award inductees must have earned a degree from the UTK Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, or an engineering degree from another accredited engineering school or college with a sustained positive relationship with the CBE Department. They must also have a minimum of ten years of engineering and/or other professional experience since earning their engineering degree.  Inductees should be recognized for their accomplishments and contributions to the profession and to society by membership in honorary societies and receipt or special honors and awards from recognized national and international academic and/or industrial organizations.

Nominees cannot be current faculty or administrators of the University of Tennessee.

Inaugural Class


Photo of John PradosJohn Prados

Prados joined the department as a graduate assistant in 1953. He quickly climbed the ranks in both the department and the college, serving as a full-time faculty member from 1956 to 1968 before spending the next two decades in stints as associate dean of engineering, dean of admissions and records, acting chancellor of the Knoxville and Martin campuses, acting director of energy conversion programs at the UT Space Institute, and, from 1973 through 1988, vice president for academic affairs of the statewide UT System.

A native of Spring Hill, Tennessee, Prados is a fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AiCHE), the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), and the American Society for Engineering Education. He has received the L. E. Grinter Distinguished Service Award, UT’s Macebearer Award, and the James T. Rogers Award from the Commission on Colleges.

In other higher learning institutions, Prados has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Southern Association of Schools and Colleges, a trustee of the F. W. Olin College of Engineering, and an executive councilor of Tau Beta Pim as well as advising more than thirty other universities, government entities, and industries.

Outside academia, he has served as the National Science Foundation’s senior education associate in its Engineering Directorate, as director and treasurer of the AiCHE, president and treasurer of the scientific research society Sigma Xi, chair of the Engineering Accreditation Commission, and secretary and president of ABET.



Class of 2017 Inductees


Michael Picture of Michael HarrisT. Harris

PhD Chemical Engineering 1992

Michael T. Harris was the first African American to receive a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Tennessee.  During his studies at the University of Tennessee, he worked full time as a development engineer at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in the areas of environmental control technology, colloids, and interfacial phenomena, and the application of finite element and boundary element numerical methods.

Dr. Harris is an inventor with 11 patents and has approximately 100 peer-review publication.  Currently he is the Associate Dean of Engineering for Engagement and Undergraduate Education and the Robert B. and Virginia V. Covalt Professor of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University.  Prior to Purdue University, he spent six years on the faculty in Chemical Engineering and the Institute for Physical Science and Technology at the University of Maryland.  He is dedicated to educating students and has advised over 130 undergraduate researchers and 23 former PhD students.  He is a fellow of AIChE.  He received the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career, the AIChE Grimes and the AIChE Pioneers of Diversity Awards.  He served as chair of the Minority Division of ASEE, chair of Minority Affairs Committee of AIChE, a member of the Chemical Technology Operating Council, a Trustee of AIChE Foundation, secretary/treasurer of the Nanoscience and Engineering Forum of AIChE and Director of the Materials Division of AIChE.


Picture of Jim PorterJames B. Porter

BS Chemical Engineering 1965

Following graduation, James B. Porter, Jr. went to work for the DuPont Company where his career spanned more than 42 years.  He held numerous technical and management positions and he was the Chief Engineer and Vice President of Engineering and Operations when he retired in 2008.

His volunteer work in improving the business effectiveness of capital project management and construction practices and systems earned him leadership awards from the Construction Industry Institute and FIATECH.  His strong support of diversity in engineering was recognized by the Society of Women Engineers’ Rodney D. Chipp Memorial Award.

Mr. Porter served as the Chair of UT’s Tickle College of Engineering Board of Advisors for several years and he was the 2015 recipient of the Nathan W. Dougherty Award.  He is a Fellow of AIChE and a member of the National Academy of Construction.



Class of 2018 Inductees

picture of Mark CoxMark K. Cox

BS Chemical Engineering 1989

Cox has served more than 30 years with Eastman Chemical since beginning as a co-op student in 1986.  He earned a Master of Business Administration from Northwestern University and has held various leadership positions within Eastman.  In 2014, he became a member of the Eastman Executive Team, serving as Senior Vice President, Chief Manufacturing, Supply Chain, and Engineering officer. He holds U.S. and international patents for his work as an engineer, and championed the formation of the Eastman Unit Operations Laboratory within the UT Tickle College of Engineering. He is a Senior Member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, a member of Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society, and sits on the UT Tickle College of Engineering Board of Advisors. Cox has served as a volunteer with multiple United Way Agencies and church-related medical  mission efforts.


Photo of Steve CrawfordStephen (Steve) G. Crawford

BS Chemical Engineering 1987

Crawford is a native of Kingsport, Tennessee. He joined Eastman Chemical Company in 1984 as a co-op and remains with the company after 34 years. While at Eastman, he has held several leadership positions of increasing responsibility in both Manufacturing Operations and Technology. ln his role in Technology he has lead the development of the Innovation Strategy for the Specialty Businesses in Eastman including the building of the Eastman Innovation network in both the Asia Pacific and the European regions. He has held the position of Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer since 2014.

Mr. Crawford is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Society of Chemical Industry and the Industrial Research Institute. He serves on the Board of Directors of both Launch Tennessee, supporting entrepreneurship in Tennessee, and the Board of Eastman Credit Union. Mr. Crawford also champions the Master research agreements between Eastman and the University of Tennessee and serves on the Board of Advisors for the Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Department.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.

View our Privacy Policy.