Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Graduate Students

Graduate Students


Oghosa Honor Akenuwa.

Oghosa H. (Honor) Akenuwa

Advisor: Steve Abel
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Washington and Lee University
oakenuwa@tennessee.edu


Ali Al-Najada.

Ali Al-Najada

Advisor: Cong Trinh
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from King Saud University, MS from University of Southern California
aalnajad@tennessee.edu


Monireh Asoudeh.

Monireh Asoudeh

Advisor: Paul Dalhaimer
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Sharif University of Technology
masoudeh@tennessee.edu


Brian Barth.

Brian A. Barth

Advisor: Tom Zawokzinski
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS and MS from University of Pittsburgh
bbarth@tennessee.edu



Chris Bottoms.

Chris Bottoms

Advisor: Gila Stein
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Wake Forest University
cbottom2@tennessee.edu


Mahdi Boudaghi.

Mahdi Boudaghi-Khajehnobar

Advisors: Bamin Khomami, Brian Edwards
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from University of Tabriz, MS from KN Toosi University
mboudagh@tennessee.edu


Jonah Brown.

Jonah W. Brown

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Iowa State University
jbrow290@tennessee.edu


Nathan Bryant.

Nathan D. Bryant

Advisor: Art Ragauskas
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Tennessee Technological University, MS from UT
nbryant3@tennessee.edu



Nilesh Charpota.

Nilesh Charpota

Advisor: Gila Stein
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BTech from Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad; MS from University of Florida
ncharpot@tennessee.edu


Gaurav Chauhan.

Gaurav Chauhan

Advisor: Steve Abel
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BTech from Indian Institute of Technology, Dhanbad
gchauhan@tennessee.edu


Austin Conte.

Austin Conte

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of Rhode Island
aconte1@tennessee.edu


Jonathan Coote.

Jonathan P. Coote

Advisor: Gila Stein
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Tulane University
jcoote@tennessee.edu



Christopher Cotter.

Christopher J. Cotter

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of North Carolina
ccotter1@tennessee.edu


Elijah Davis.

Elijah M. Davis

Advisor: Dibyendu Mukherjee
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from UT
edavis77@tennessee.edu


David Dooley.

David S. Dooley

Advisor: Cong Trinh
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Tennessee Tech
ddooley2@tennessee.edu


Liang Fang.

Liang Fang

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BEng from Wuhan Institute of Technology, MMS from Wuhan Institute of Biological Products
lfang5@tennessee.edu



Mustafa Farahat.

Mustafa Farahat

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Iowa State University
mfarahat@tennessee.edu


Read Fritts.

Read A. Fritts

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BS from University of Utah
rfritts1@tennessee.edu


Thomas Gaetjens.

Thomas K. Gaetjens

Advisor: Steve Abel
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from UT
tgaetjen@tennessee.edu


Rohit Ghanta.

Rohit Ghanta

Advisor: Manolis Doxastakis
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BTech from Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, M. Tech. from Indian Institute of Technology
rghanta@tennessee.edu



Kaylie Glynn.

Kaylie C. Glynn

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS and MS from Rochester Institute Tech
kglynn4@tennessee.edu


Sijie Guo.

Sijie Guo

Advisor: Siris Laursen
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Hunan University
sguo19@tennessee.edu


Achal Gupta.

Achal Gupta

Advisor: Paul Dalhaimer
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BTech from Thapar University
agupta21@tennessee.edu


Bryce Hansen.

Bryce B. Hansen

Advisor: Joshua Sangoro
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Arizona State University
bhanse10@tennessee.edu



Matthew Harris.

Matthew A. Harris

Advisor: Joshua Sangoro
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from City College of New York
mharri93@tennessee.edu


Javad Jeddi.

Javad Jeddi

Advisor: Joshua Sangoro
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS and MS from Amirkabir University of Technology
jjeddi@tennessee.edu


Reads "No Photo Available."

William A. Khomtchenko

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
zyl941@tennessee.edu


Thomas Kinsey.

Thomas P. Kinsey

Advisor: Joshua Sangoro
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Spring Hill College
tkinsey@tennessee.edu



Charles Koudelka.

Charles T. Koudelka

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BS from Tennessee Tech University
ckoudelk@tennessee.edu


Travis Laws.

Travis S. Laws

Advisor: Gila Stein
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Appalachian State University
tlaws@tennessee.edu


Reads "No Photo Available."

Niantai Li

Advisor: Cong Trinh
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BEng from Shandong University of Technology, MEngr from Illinois Institute of Technology
nli25@tennessee.edu


Yuanshun Li.

Yuanshun Li

Advisor: Tom Zawodzinski
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BEng from Iowa State University
yli203@tennessee.edu



Luna Liang.

Luna Liang

Advisor: Art Ragauskas
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Jiangnan University
lliang3@tennessee.edu


Xubo Luo.

Xubo Luo

Advisor: Stephen Paddison
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BEng and MS from Tianjin University
xluo16@tennessee.edu


Karthika Madathil Soman Pillai.

Karthika Madathil Soman Pillai

Advisor: Gila Stein
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BTech from Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, MS from Arizona State University
kmadathi@tennessee.edu


Joey Michaud.

Edward J. (Joey) Michaud

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BS from UT
emichau1@tennessee.edu



Mahshid Mokhtarnejad.

Mahshid Mokhtarnejad

Advisor: Bamin Khomami
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Urmia University, MS from University of Tabriz
mmokhtar@tennessee.edu


Max Mortensen.

Max K. Mortensen

Advisor: Siris Laursen
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Brigham Young University
mmorten1@tennessee.edu


Nikhil Nambiar.

Nikhil Nambiar

Advisor: Steve Abel
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BTech from Indian Institute of Technology, Dhanbad, and MS from Carnegie Mellon University
nnambia1@tennessee.edu


Neel Patel.

Neel Patel

Advisor: Dayakar Penumadu
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BS from UT
npatel46@vols.utk.edu



Bindica Poudel.

Bindica Poudel

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of New Mexico
bpoudel1@tennessee.edu


Mitchell Raith.

Mitchell Raith

Advisor: Paul Dalhaimer
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Ohio State University
mraith@tennessee.edu


Hannah Schmidt.

Hannah N. Schmidt

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from East Tennessee State University
hschmid3@tennessee.edu


Hyeongmin Seo.

Hyeongmin Seo

Advisor: Cong Trinh
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Konkuk University
hseo5@tennessee.edu



Nobahar Shahidi.

Nobahar Shahidi

Advisor: Manolis Doxastakis
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Sharif University of Technology, MS from UT
nshahidi@tennessee.edu


James Shippy.

James L. Shippy

Advisor: Robert Counce
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Auburn University, MS from UT
jshippytennessee.edu


Yuanjun Song.

Yuanjun Song

Advisor: Siris Laursen
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Yantai University, MS from Southeast University
ysong26@tennessee.edu


Stephanie Spittle.

Stephanie A. Spittle

Advisor: Joshua Sangoro
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Appalachian State University, MS from UT
sspittle@tennessee.edu



Brandon Stevens.

Brandon L. Stevens

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: MS
Previous Degree: BS from University of Alabama
bsteve22@tennessee.edu


Drew Viers.

Robert A. (Drew) Viers

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from Virginia Polytechnic Institute
rviers@tennessee.edu


Caleb Walker.

Caleb M. Walker

Advisor: Cong Trinh
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
fyz692@tennessee.edu


Brian Washington.

Brian Washington

Advisor: Eric Boder
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degree: BS from University of Alabama
bwashin7@tennessee.edu



Stefan Williams.

Stefan T. Williams

Advisor: Tom Zawodzinski
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS from Morehouse College, MS from UT
swill178@tennessee.edu


Shuyang Zhang.

Shuyang Zhang

Advisor: Art Ragauskas
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS and MS from Sichuan University
szhang59@tennessee.edu


Zhenghao Zhu.

Zhenghao Zhu

Advisor: Stephen Paddison
Degree Plan: PhD
Previous Degrees: BS and MS from East China University of Science and Technology
zzhu19@tennessee.edu