Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

News Archive

Student Awards Round-Up

Chancellor Donde Plowman on stage with the 2022 Torchbearers.

Chancellor Donde Plowman with the 2022 Torchbearers

Numerous awards are distributed across the university late in the spring semester. We’re proud to announce CBE students have been recognized as outlined below.

Chancellor’s Honors and Academic Honors

“These ceremonies celebrate the best and brightest of our university,” said Chancellor Donde Plowman. “As the state’s flagship land-grant institution, we are committed to teaching, research, and service. The exceptional students, faculty, and staff being honored truly understand what it means to be a Volunteer—to have the courage to step forward in leadership and service. Each one of them is committed to making our campus and our community better, and their stories are inspiring.”

Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service Award

This award recognizes graduating students who are extraordinary campus leaders for their significant service to others.
CBE Recipient: Lauren Eccles


This is the highest honor the university gives to its undergraduate students.
CBE Recipient: Tasimba Jonga

Read the full list of TCE winners.

Volunteer of Distinction Awards

These awards are presented each spring by the Office of the Provost in the categories of Extraordinary Academic Achievement, Extraordinary Professional Promise, Outstanding Scholar Athlete, and Top Collegiate Scholars. CBE recipients are listed below.

Winner Award
James Baker Top Collegiate Scholars
Lauren Eccles Academic Achievement
Joseph Kingsley Top Collegiate Scholars
Auken Van Top Collegiate Scholars

Read the full list of TCE winners.


The Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA) is an annual event that showcases research and creative activities by currently enrolled undergraduate students in collaboration with a faculty mentor.

Award Name Student(s) Project Title
Award of Merit Nathaniel Blalock

Faculty Mentor: Cong Trinh

High Throughput Enzyme Screening for Ester Quantification
Award of Merit Nicole Nguyen

Faculty Mentor: Paul Dalhaimer

Soft poly-ethylene-glycol (PEG) micelles and lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) resolve autophagy and reduce pro-inflammatory cytokine secretion in RAW264.7 mouse macrophages

View the full list of TCE winners.